Le genièvre

Le genièvre

Si les baies de genièvre relèvent traditionnellement de la choucroute, nous allons nous intéresser ici à un des thèmes favoris de notre blog : le Gin. En effet, le genièvre (baies de genièvre ou plus précisément baies de genévrier) a donné son nom à cet...
Les modes de production du gin !

Les modes de production du gin !

« Distilled gin », « Dry gin » ou encore « Compound gin » ! Nous pouvons être souvent perdus dans ces termes anglais pour cet alcool qui a le vent en poupe. Nous avons l’habitude, dans notre belle France viticole de parler d’appellation. Les AOC ou AOP...
Irish Coffee

Irish Coffee

Cocktail incontournable, indémodable et qui ne date pas d’hier ! Synonyme de réconfort par temps froid, l’Irish Coffee se déguste pendant les longues soirées d’hiver calé au fond d’un fauteuil moelleux dans l’arrière salle d’un pub...
Ice ball

Ice ball

Ice ball ou « Balle de glace » in French n’est pas un simple glaçon ! Contrairement à ce qu’on pourrait penser, le whisky et la glace ne font pas forcément mauvais ménage. Au risque de m’attirer les foudres des puristes, la glace peut exalter...
Le Mizuwari

Le Mizuwari

Si vous vouliez provoquer une crise cardiaque chez un écossais ou un irlandais, le Mizuwari est exactement le cocktail que vous devez leur proposer ! si autant d’eau (j’ai bien dis de l’eau !), le double du volume de whisky, rajouté au whisky est...

Pin It on Pinterest

Irish Coffee

Irish Coffee

A must-have cocktail that never goes out of date! Synonymous with comfort in cold weather, Irish Coffee is best enjoyed during the long winter evenings propped up in the back of a soft armchair in the back room of a pub with vintage decor! What is Irish Coffee? The...
Ice Ball

Ice Ball

Ice ball is not just an ice cube! Contrary to what you might think, whisky and ice do not necessarily go well together. At the risk of attracting the wrath of purists, ice can exalt certain aromas of whisky. We can go a little further and see that in Japan,...
Mizuwari

Mizuwari

If you wanted to cause a heart attack in a Scottish or an Irishman, the Mizuwari is exactly the cocktail that you have to serv them! if so much water (I mean water!), double the volume of whiskey, added to whiskey is sacrilege for some, it is a real institution for...
Alcoholic fermentation

Alcoholic fermentation

Do you know the chemical formula of alcoholic fermentation? C6H12O6 + 2 ADP + 2 Pi → 2 C2H5OH + 2 CO2 + 2 ATP. Basically, the reagents C6H12O6 (glucose), ADP (nucleotide Adenosine Diphosphate) and 2 Pi (Inorganic phosphate) are transformed into products which are...
Brewing

Brewing

Brewing, if you ask the question: what is whisky? The answer is simple: it’s the distillation of a beer! Simple question, simple answer but by the way, how do you make a beer? To be able to talk to you about whisky, we will have to understand how we make a beer....

Pin It on Pinterest